Gravel Fondo Limburg: Aerts triumphs in sprint, Neefjes solos to win

UCI Gravel World Series

Despite some last-minute course adjustments due to heavy rain in the preceding weeks, the event maintained its vibrant atmosphere under the sunny skies.

In the men’s elite race, a breakaway group of 10 formed, with Belgian Toon Aerts and Dutch Piotr Havik making their move in the final lap. Aerts dominated the sprint at the Shimano Experience Center, securing first place, followed by Havik in second and Adne Koster (NED) in third, trailing by 20 seconds. Notable ex-pro riders such as Jasper Ockeloen, Johnny Hoogerland, Greg van Avermaet, and Jan Bakelants also achieved top 10 finishes.

Meanwhile, Tessa Neefjes (NED) engaged in a fierce battle with Irina Lutzelschwab (SUI) in the women’s race. Neefjes managed to create a gap, clinching victory with a 2-minute lead over Lutzelschwab. Wendy Oosterwoud (Ned) claimed the third spot on the podium, finishing 3.5 minutes behind the winner.

Share this article